Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Hoenshell's Build

Default Hoenshell's Build

This past weekend my wife and I purchased and picked up a Kitfox IV Classic from a gentlemen not too far away from my location here outside of the Kansas City area. I’m not a mechanic; although, I purchased a Cessna 172E a couple of years ago and my A&P has helped me performed a lot of my own maintenance an upgrades over the past couple of years. I’m a network engineer by trade and although I enjoy the technical aspects, I also have gotten my hands dirty in numerous past projects working with metal, wood, plastic and fiber glass. This will be great first kitplane project since it is over half completed with fabric covered and painted. It came with a never ran Rotax 912ULS 100hp engine (purchased 1999) which I’m very excited about. This Kitfox was purchased in 1994 and so I have some updating to do. I really like the looks of the Kitfox with the smooth cowling, but I’m not as much of a fan of the round cowling and of course this project has a completed round cowling along with the firewall forward kit. The first order of business will be to contact Kitfox and order the necessary parts to change from the round to smooth cowling. My understanding it’s requires replacing the engine mount along with the upper firewall since the firewall was already shaped to the round cowling. I know it’s going to be quite a task to redo much of the work already done with the round cowling, but I’m looking forward to the challenge and I’ll be happier with the end results. I also want to change the standard landing gear out for the bush landing gear. While I’m waiting on the cowling parts to arrive I believe that I may try to change the color of the interior by painting the front of the frame tubing to a dark matte gray. There is jus