Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Classic Model 4 1200 vs Model 5

Default Classic Model 4 1200 vs Model 5

Hello,
    I’m new to flying and in the market for a kitfox but would like to know the difference between the model 4 and the model 5? I’ve seen a lot of model 4’s for sale and not so many 5’s. What research I’ve done looks like they are really close?
    Thanks

Default Re: Classic Model 4 1200 vs Model 5

The short reply is that the model 5, 6 and 7 are all very similar, and different than the model 4. The later models have a larger fuselage, higher gross weight and was made to use larger engines than the model 1-4.

The link for history is no longer working at the Kitfox website.
    Phil Nelson
    A&P-IA, Maintenance Instructor
    KF 5 Outback, Cont. IO-240
    Flying since 2016

Thank you for the information

You need to go sit in a 4, and then a 5,6,or 7.
    There is quite a bit of difference in cabin size and other things as well.
    Best to see it for yourself.
    Good luck.
    Kitfox 5 Vixon
    Flying

Quote Originally Posted by PapuaPilot View Post
    The short reply is that the model 5, 6 and 7 are all very similar, and different than the model 4. The later models have a larger fuselage, higher gross weight and was made to use larger engines than the model 1-4.

The link for history is no longer working at the Kitfox website.