Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser CPS Parts EarthX Batteries Kitplane Parts
Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 345678 LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 75

Thread: DynaVibe available again

  1. #61
    Senior Member jrevens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Arvada, CO
    Posts
    1,532

    Default Re: DynaVibe available again

    Quote Originally Posted by PapuaPilot View Post
    Typically you install the final (permanent) weights on the spinner backplate as far outboard as possible. Use a screw/bolt, self locking nut and washers as needed to make the correct weight. You will need to drill a hole in the backplate at the correct clock position. Make sure it doesn't rub on your cowling. ...
    Thatís definitely the FAA approved/recommended way. Iíve balanced many dozens of props on experimental aircraft, but I just hate putting holes in a spinner backing plate. If something changes (new prop, etc.), the ideal location for perfect balance weight addition may be just slightly off of that hole, or at the very least you may now have an unnecessary hole in the plate and have to drill another one in a new location. With Lycomings it is often possible to do a good job utilizing the holes that are in most of the ďnewerĒ ring gears (every 30 deg.) and adding bolts, nuts & washers as necessary. Otherwise I have used automotive stick-on lead wheel weights very successfully. I carefully clean & gently rough up the inside of the back plate flange in the proper location(s) and apply the weight(s) there. I remove the foam mounting tape that comes on the weights & replace it with high temp/high strength 3M tape. Iíve also molded my own thin lead strips to use when only small amounts of weight are necessary and I want to have a greater contact surface area for adhesion. The lead is easily trimmed to the correct fractions of an ounce or gram. After the weight is applied and final balance check, I then apply a thin fillet of silicone sealant around the perimeter at the base of the weight to seal the edge of the foam mounting tape against air & moisture. In the approximately 25 years Iíve been doing that, Iíve never heard of a weight coming off. However, if you do need to rebalance with new weights, they are easily removed with no damage to the spinner backing plate. FWIW.
    John Evens
    Arvada, CO
    Kitfox SS7 N27JE

  2. #62
    Senior Member Dorsal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Central, MA
    Posts
    1,499

    Default Re: DynaVibe available again

    Joe,
    Hold on to the unit for a little bit to see if there are others who are interested, if no takers you can send it back to me.
    Dorsal ~~^~~
    Series 7 - Tri-Gear
    912 ULS Warp Drive

  3. #63

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Greenlawn, NY
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: DynaVibe available again

    I would like to rent it. Brian..
    6318273980
    Thereís a list of people on this thread who also want. Not sure where I stand or if the list is current.

  4. #64
    Senior Member JoeRuscito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    291

    Default Re: DynaVibe available again

    Hey Dorsal,

    Am I ok to send to Brian above? Havenít heard from anyone else.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #65
    Senior Member Dorsal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Central, MA
    Posts
    1,499

    Default Re: DynaVibe available again

    Sure, he should be sending you his address, PM me when it ships.
    Dorsal ~~^~~
    Series 7 - Tri-Gear
    912 ULS Warp Drive

  6. #66

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    El Dorado Hills,Ca
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: DynaVibe available again

    Dorsal,
    Would like to get in line for this as well.
    Let me know what you need from me.
    Tony
    916-813-7210
    Kitfox 5 Vixon
    Flying

  7. #67
    Senior Member JoeRuscito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    291

    Default Re: DynaVibe available again

    The dynavibe is on the way to Brian (Furn1593)



  8. #68

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Greenlawn, NY
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: DynaVibe available again

    Got it. Now just waiting for the rain/snow to stop. Iíll get it done as soon as I can

  9. #69

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Greenlawn, NY
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: DynaVibe available again

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeRuscito View Post
    The dynavibe is on the way to Brian (Furn1593)


    im done. Whoís next?

  10. #70

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Myerstown, Pa.
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: DynaVibe available again

    Quote Originally Posted by ken nougaret View Post
    Thanks Phil. Put me in line for it. No hurry. I' m putting on a newly overhauled carb next weekend so i will have to sort that out.
    Love to use it when I can, just installed a new Quinti IFA prop! Let me know,
    Jim Dernovsek, Myerstown, Pa.
    KF 5/7
    jrdpd@comcast.net

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •