Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fuel tank sending units

Default Fuel tank sending units

Hello, I'm new to kitfox's. I've been eyeballing them for a few weeks now and have what is perhaps a dumb question (though I did perform a search on the site).

I was reading the build manual and noticed that the only provision for fuel gauges is typically a sight glass at the wing root and an optional alarm that goes into the header tank. This is all great and is a system that has been proven for a long time.

However, I believe that a large portion of GA accidents are fuel starvation related. I feel that having float style sending units in the tanks would be a very nice safety feature since modern glass avionics (G3X) now incorporate fuel range rings, fuel calculators, and audible warnings.

I was just curious if anyone has put sending units in the tanks, or is this a large endeavor because of the fiberglass tanks?

Default Re: Fuel tank sending units

Does composite act differently then fiberglass? The tanks on KF are composite and I wonder if that makes working on them more difficult.

Fiberglass is a type of composite. I looked at sending units but these tanks are not very tall and I could not find a suitable sending unit.
    Jeff
    KF 5
    340KF

After you fly your airplane for a while, you will learn how many gallons per hour your airplane burns in cruise and how much to allow for the first 10-15 minutes of climb to altitude.

There are also flow meters that will tell you how many gallons per hour your engine is burning. I have mine calibrated to read 1/2 gallon per hour MORE than I actually burn. Just my conservative nature.

Between the fuel meter and knowing my fuel burn at cruise, I personally do not see the need to have gages in the tank. It's just another system to be maintained.