Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: October 2009 Kitfox of the Month Jim Shnowske

Default October 2009 Kitfox of the Month Jim Shnowske

Jim_Shnow._plane_2009_006[1].jpg

N28KF Hi folks. I’m Jim Shnowske, a Kitfox IV owner (1050).After six hundred and seventy five hours of flying time, I’m still convinced I made the perfect choice for my own personal flying carpet. I picked up my huge box at the local trucking depot in April 1992. Three years and 1150 hours later it was ready for flight (April 1995). I have been an R/C modeler since grade school and lots of the techniques used on the models transferred to building the Kitfox. Watching the plane come together and adding a few personal touches while learning new skills was a very rewarding experience.
    N28KF started life with a Rotax 582 engine. That motor was very adequate for the airplane as the empty weight came out at 502 lbs. and the motor was as smooth as a sewing machine mounted in the nose. The only problems encountered in 600 hours with that motor were pilot induced. Two trips to Sun-N-Fun from Wisconsin proved to me these are reliable engines indeed. BUT…a used Rotax 912 came up for sale on the internet two years ago with a price I could afford and the purchase was made. The motor even came with the motor mount for a Model IV Kitfox. The swap of engines was completed over the course of the winter and now I believe I have the perfect match of airplane and engine. Cruise speed increased 15 mph and is now at the top of the green arc (105 mph at 5200 rpm) while burning 1 ½ gallons LESS fuel per hour! The only downside was that useful load was decreased about 70 lbs.