Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with fuel tank replacement - 1992 KFIV Speedster

Default Help with fuel tank replacement - 1992 KFIV Speedster

Folks,
    I got my new 13 gallon tank from Kitfox, removed the right wing and put it in my basement to begin work. I've never done this kind of work before ... remove old fabric, remove old tank, replace with new tank, recover. I'm anxious because I want to do it right and well.
    I can see a tape seam around the old 13 gallon tank. Two of the seams are on ribs that box the tank in. The other two seams appear to be where the two spars are located. I think I have to remove the fabric to at least the middle of each seam in order to get the tank out.
    I probably should mention that I plan to use Oratex to cover this hole up. I've talked to Lars and he said that Oratex can be used to patch over poly fiber.
    How far should I cut the old fabric back?

P.S. Found something odd on this old tank. It appears that whomever installed this tank originally didn't like the location of the filler neck. So they sealed it up with bondo (?) and added a new neck. The material used to add the new neck is probably the source for my original problems of finding huge pieces of sticky material in the tank!
    Tank1.jpg
    tank3.jpg
    tank2.jpg

Thanks for the help and support.
    Bob & Debbie
    KF IV N1670B
    Campbellsburg, Kentucky

Default Re: Help with fuel tank replacement - 1992 KFIV Speedster

If it was me, I would replace the whole top wing panel over the tank bays, rather than patch the area you outline in red. Then all my new fabric seams would be over ribs, front spar, and trailing edge. this would also make the new-to-old paint transitions much less noticeable.