Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hangar required?

Default Hangar required?

Morning all,

I am a glider pilot and training in an Aeronca Champ, hope to get LSA sign off this summer.

Seriously liking a Kitfox, it checks all the boxes for me but I have concerns about it sleeping outside. In the winter we get snow, ice, all the bad stuff so it would be tucked away in my garage; but for summer will the material stand up to rain etc.? We don't get hail here so that's not a concern.

I fly out of 5B2 where all the hangars are rented out, will have to tie it out.

Thanks, Dan

Default Re: Hangar required?

My experience with the few fabric planes I have owned, if at all possible, rent a hangar. With the KF you can fold the wings and may be able to share hangar rent with someone which will cut your hangar expenses. Or get a trailer and bring it home to your garage. Enclosed trailer may be another opton.

There are guys that keep fabric covered planes out in the elements in the north country and they are ok as long as the snow gets swept off and most guys will try and install wing covers to hopefully cut down on the UV damage. I kept my Champ on floats outside for two summers and my advice would be to find a hangar if possible. These reasons are the main deciding factor in what I decided to build. Probably not good posting another airplane on a Kitfox dedicated sight but I am currently building a Murphy Rebel, all metal and they can actually be found for around the same price as a KF.

The newer fabrics do last a long time but I personally don't like leaving a fabric covered plane sitting out in the elements. My Champ's paint got dull and stained from bird dropping and UV damage.

Good Luck!