Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Expectations of Kitfox

Default Expectations of Kitfox

Hi all:

I am a low time private pilot that just got back into it after some years off.
    I joined a club that I enjoy, however, I would really like to own something. I would say it'll be a two year process due to funds, job changes etc.

In any case I want something rugged that I can take to fields and grass strips as well as pavement with two people and some gear. I'd want to do some cross country flying but in no hurry. It's really not meant to travel but to enjoy getting there.

I had been thinking in the direction of a 172 or tri pacer, but I'm wondering if LSA has an advantage given what I'm looking for. I hear stories of what parts cost (horrifying) and I know Avgas is only going up especially when the 100LL replacement gets here. And I hear many A&P's are very expensive especially if they are light on work. So its a pricey hobby and I know that it will be no matter what.

But I can use my hands and am not afraid of the build aspect other than the patience it will take, and if I were to build a kitfox it seems like it would do a lot of what I'm asking. I could do most of my own work and burn cheaper gas. And I could stay in the club if I wanted to carry four people or just had a need for a 172 or Archer.

So am I thinking in a rational direction. Can I expect to carry 450 pounds of people and some bags safe and comfortable at 110 or 120 mph on 5 or 6 gph. And not have to suffer many of the crippling maintenance costs. What I'm seeing so far says yes. Have any of you built and in light sport for some of the same reasons. Are people other than those suffering from the medical hurdle moving in this direction.

Are my thoughts and questions clear.

Default Re: Expectations of Kitfox