Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: LLE and Fuel tank

Default LLE and Fuel tank

Hi all,

Just thinking about my yet to be ordered kit and the LLE option and if to go for this option at all.
    I think I am correct in understanding that it comes in two pieces and joins at rib#5. Just wondering if folks are also cutting and making a join at the edge of the fuel tank (I think rib# 3)to make changing a fuel tank slightly easier if and when, heaven forbid, in the future a tank happens to leak. Or is this not the thing to do?
    Also any comments for or against the LLE would be appreciated. The added weight v benefit v appearance etc.

Alan

Default Re: LLE and Fuel tank

alan , don't know anything about the leading edge kit but i have some experience with the gas tanks leaking . be sure to leak check them good before installing them . i had a new tank that leaked and luckily found it before i installed it . when the hole was drilled for the outlet , the drill had gone too far in the tank and cut into the tank on the other side of the little sump area by the outlet . being the standup people that they are , the mcbeans made it right .
    chuck
    kitfox IV 1050
    912ul warpdrive
    flying B , yelm, wa

I don't know how much they improve performance, but they do improve the appearance of the wing. I installed them according to the instructions and would not cut them at the tank until repairs are needed.

Chuck/Bill, Thanks for the advice....much appreciated.

Part of the charm of a Kitfox is the rag wing appearance. Some paint jobs actually emphasize the scallops on the leading edge.