Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kitfox Market Value for Models 1-3 in 2014?

Default Kitfox Market Value for Models 1-3 in 2014?

Hi All,

My name's Jason and I'm new to the forum. I am a student pilot looking for a Kitfox to buy to finish my sport pilot training.

I have looked around Barnstormers and seen a couple decent Kitfox's (and Avids too). I want to spend about 12K cash for a plane, so it looks like Model 1's and 2's are probably my best options, maybe a 3 if I get lucky.

My question for the forum is, what would you say the going rate/market value is for a good, in annual, low time engine, flying Kitfox model 1,2 or 3? Also what would you say a trailer is worth if included? I want to make sure I'm not overpaying but also offering fair prices to sellers. Also, if any of you are looking to sell any of these models in my price range let me know!

Thanks in advance and I look forward to hearing from you.

Default Re: Kitfox Market Value for Models 1-3 in 2014?

hahaha, I JUST went through the EXACT same exercise. Welcome to the forums!

Seriously, I was just looking for a good 3, they have the bigger rudder and some other refinements. You want a model 3 if possible. Advice, look on craigslist, across the country. Get very familiar with the rules and regs for aircraft *AIRWORTHINESS* vs. *REGISTRATION* basically if it's not in current airworthiness or has just recently expired from being parked in a hanger, stay away!
    There are a few around that were not given an airworthiness from a DAR and are now "Pumpkins" and can't get a n-number.

The other thing you want to find is a trailer. That way you can trailer the plane home without having to fly it. Make sure the plane comes with the struts necessary for being loaded on a trailer.