Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wanting to buy.

Default Wanting to buy.

Hello everyone. I am new to all this, so I will probably make a few mistakes.
    I am looking to buy a KF. So far have bn looking at a model 4 with a 80hp rotax, wide body mod, converted to tricycle gear.
    One question I have is, on-going, up keep on the rotax. Is this a big issue as far as having to do constant adjustments?
    I also have bn looking at a Series 5 with the 125hp Franklin engine. I have not bn able to come up with much info on the Franklin.
    I would be thankful for any help.

Default Re: Wanting to buy.

Hi welcome to the KF forum this is just my opinion, but the Model 4 with the Rotax would be a better deal. The 9 series Rotax engine is an excellent engine rnot sure I know what you mean by constant adjustments ( are you thinkung of the 2 stroke engine that require carb adjustments with temp changes) the 4 strokes are not like that.
    Good luck with your search the Kitfox is an excellent aircraft.
    GB
    Flying a HKS Kitfox III and a Champ

I have heard, and read here, about carb adjustments, vibrations and such. Probably not as much of a issue as I read into it.
    Am leaning to the model 4, speedster, since it qualifies as expermental.

I have found my 912S to be hassle free so far (200 hrs), I change the oil and balance the carbs (15 min job) about every 25 hrs.
    Dorsal ~~^~~
    Series 7 - Tri-Gear
    912 ULS Warp Drive

Well, that sounds simple enough. Thanks.

I have a model four 912 80 horse.