Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch

Thread: Building Wings

Default Building Wings

I'm starting to set up my jig for building the SS7 wings. The manual text seems to indicates building them rightside up, but the pictures show them upside down on the jig? What is the right way?

Jim

Default Re: Building Wings

Tom...

Outstanding Build report... great work.

Andrew
    NOKITFOXYET

Thank you! Good luck with your project.

Didn't get much response, so I'll assume most everyone agrees building them rightside up is the preferred way.

One more question: Its my first time using the Hysol adhesive and I am a little confused as to how much cotton flox to add for doing the wing rib fillets. Can someone give me a few hints as to what consistency I should shoot for; like toothpaste, putty, yogurt, etc? Should it not be runny at all?

Jim

Hi Jim,

I think you are correct - consensus is probably top up - although it doesn't matter to the wing which side is up as long as the relationship between the spars is correct.

The flox....that is art, not science.....A little more or less will not affect strength of the bond - way too much not a good thing - way too little and it will run sort of like honey - the trick is to get enough into the hysol so it is not runny and it pretty much stays in place when you apply it - if it sags - not enough flox - add some more. And make real sure it is uniformly mixed with the flox. Best to start out with mixing the two parts of the hysol - then add some flox a bit at a time till it holds its shape and squeeses out into a smooth bead. Try to avoid putting in too much - although you can always add more hysol if it ends up looking like tree bark and leaves voids you do not want to have happen.

Sincerely,

Dave S
    KF 7 Trigear