Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking to buy a model 1 kitfox! Info please

Default Looking to buy a model 1 kitfox! Info please

Hello all, I am new to the experimental world. I recently stumbled upon a kitfox model one. It’s been sitting for at least 10-15 years. He told me it’s a zero time motor. The Hobbs meter has 93 hours on the airframe. He has no log books for the prop/airframe/engine. Really clean plane looks like it got its airworthiness back in 1995. Probably original fabric. What price range do you all think it would be in? Thank you! Sorry no pics
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Dstrut1; 08-09-2022 at 08:30 PM.

Default Re: Looking to buy a model 1 kitfox! Info please

The HKS engine is an unknown to me so you'll want to find someone who knows about those.

I got caught in the Trent Palmer craze a few years ago and jumped on a model 1. Overall it wasn't too bad a deal but my eagerness and lack of knowledge let the seller screw me a little.

The original aluminum wing tanks were prone to cracking welds and leaking and the original fix was to slosh the tank. I forget the name of the product but it tended to start flaking off largely because the inside of the tank wasn't scuffed up which then clogged fuel filters. The guy who sold me my airplane told me all I had to do is plumb the tank back in and I'd be good to go. One look in the tank with a flashlight would have proved otherwise.

I can't tell if you have the header tank in there or not but if you only have aluminum wing tanks that could be a problem.

The early model 1s were 850 lb gross weight. The last few they made that had a vertical web in the tube spars were 950 lb gross weight. That's the difference between it being a solo aircraft or not depending on how big you are but it's size limited anyway.