Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Takeoff Procedure

Default Takeoff Procedure

Can I get some advice on takeoff procedures? I have recently purchased a Kitfox 3 and I'm having issues with my takeoffs. I am not using any flaps and when it wants to start flying it gets really squirrely as if it's flying to early. Should I hold the stick forward for a few seconds to hold the mains down for a little longer to get more airspeed when it's trying to fly? I'm just learning how to fly this thing so any advice would be greatly appreciated. I have the Rotax 912 UL.

Default Re: Takeoff Procedure

I have a SS7 so I don't know if it translates exactly. Deploying flaps really pushes the nose over on mine. If I use one notch of flaps and get the trim correct (it changes based on my load) I can lift the tail, roll it down the runway until I am well above stall and then rotate. If I do a no flap takeoff I really need to get assertive with the push forward on the stick to keep it on the ground. I believe I know the feeling you describe, especially if I have a crosswind. Just curious, why are you not using flaps?
    Eddie Forward
    Flying
    SS7, 912iS, Garmin G3X

Great point, I will definitely try my one notch of flaps. Should I put them in before I start my takeoff roll or pop them in as I am rotating? I haven't used them yet because the previous owner did not use them. I am just trying to get familiar with with is and I'm struggling on my takeoffs. My instructor did as well. It was trying to fly but wasn't ready and we started crabbing on a few of them before we were completely off the ground.