Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best model to put on Amphibs

Question Best model to put on Amphibs

Hello all again!
    As you may know from my previous threads I’m new to the Kitfox world and don’t own one yet. I want an Amphib and my research is pointing to the Kitfox as the plane to get.
    Any opinions on whether one model would perform better on floats than other models?

Default Re: Best model to put on Amphibs

Kitfox on Floats is always close to the weight limit, Amphibs might be asking too much.
    I don't have either on my plane, but I tend to think it's not the best airplane for the mission.

Maybe somebody more knowledgeable will chime in?

Jeff

Quote Originally Posted by n85ae View Post
    Kitfox on Floats is always close to the weight limit, Amphibs might be asking too much.
    I don't have either on my plane, but I tend to think it's not the best airplane for the mission.

Maybe somebody more knowledgeable will chime in?

Jeff
    Oh nooo!
    That’s not good news! I need to look carefully into useful load and float weight.
    I fly alone most of the time, thinking if someone else comes along it would have to be a light person and I’d have to manage the fuel weight if it turns out I can do that and stay below gross.

Thanks Jeff, I appreciate the input!

Hello all again,
    Does anyone out there have a Kitfox on amphibs or know someone who does?
    Is it doable?

Thanks!

This may help put your mind at ease a bit. I suppose being amphibs might be too much?

https://youtu.be/oAp4cNwUmN4

https://youtu.be/Pxv4X7bLFjE

https://youtu.be/dpvjoQ03494
    Eddie Forward
    Flying
    SS7, 912iS, Garmin G3X