Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch

Thread: Master and starter solenoid diodes

Default Master and starter solenoid diodes

I know that this topic has been reviewed several times and I have read all the posts, however I still need a little clarification. Someone posted a link that had all the info on this topic but it is no longer available. The FWF did not include diodes or a schematic. So can someone help me out with exactly what diodes are needed and how they are installed. Some pics would be nice.

Thanks in advance.
    Joe Gallagher
    Flying 7SS

http://frontierfox.home.blog

Default Re: Master and starter solenoid diodes

Joe the diodes I used came with the Vertical Power install kit and how to install them is illustrated in the installation manual. I am no electrical expert but I think they are like a check valve for electricity and I think its to help protect against voltage spikes...but that is just a guess?
    Dustin Dickerson

Building 7ss STI x 2
    Oratex
    29" shock monster
    EP912STI 155hp
    Garmin
    N33TF......FLYING!
    N53TF......FLYING!

Post #19 in this thread has some pictures and discussion on what I did
    https://teamkitfox.com/Forums/thread...fox-IV-rebuild

Thank you for the replies. Dustin, I understand what their purpose is but the way you describe the way a diode works is spot on.

4hummer, that’s a great pic and I like the way you put shrink wrap on, good idea.

i will need to put a diode on the starter solenoid also. The hard part is the way the solenoid is made. It doesn’t have a threaded stud on it for the actuator wire. It is a spade end. So I need to figure out how to address that without cutting the Rotax harness.

The rest of the wiring is pretty much complete. Next up is fitting the cowl. I’m sure I will be doing a nightly forum search before I’m finished with that step.