Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser CPS Parts EarthX Batteries
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ELT false activation

  1. #1
    Senior Member JoeRuscito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    227

    Default ELT false activation

    I turned my ACK E-04 ELT to armed for the first time today with the intention of testing the GPS data as per the ACK manual and as soon as I turned the switch to armed it started sending a distress signal. Called search and rescue and made them aware I am OK. Also Im in contact with ACK and they are helping me troubleshoot but dont have an answer yet they think it might be EMF. To that point my elt is mounted in the factory position (under turtle deck on the right side), My comm antenna is mounted on the plate behind the turtle deck, my ADSB/XPDR antenna is on the right plate behind the seat on the bottom of fuselage, Remote XPDR is on the left side of the turtle deck opposite the ELT but same position. The remote for the transponder is on the panel which means the cable is run under the center console with all the other things that go to the panel. I figured Id see what you guys thought or if any one has run into this issue. I assume everyones set up is similar from a wire routing position of components standpoint.

    Thanks for the help!

  2. #2
    Delta Whisky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Amissville, VA
    Posts
    142

    Default Re: ELT false activation

    Joe - have you checked the cable for a short? Were all other instruments off when the trouble occurred?

  3. #3
    Senior Member JoeRuscito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    227

    Default Re: ELT false activation

    I did not check the cable for a short, seems unlikely but Ill take a look. I forgot to mention that it is intermittent. The first time it send the distress almost immediately, others it takes a few minutes. Once I had it armed and when I turned on the avionics it activated immediately, other times it does not. That being said, it does not activate when the avionics are all off. So I know its something interacting with it. But I cannot figure out what would cause it to be intermittent. I would think it if activates when I turn everything on it would always do so but that doesn't seem to be the case.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    130

    Default Re: ELT false activation

    Id disconnect the remote switch and try it again.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Mapleton,UT
    Posts
    399

    Default Re: ELT false activation

    Test the theory if it is EMF. I have heard the transponder is very noisy and can cause issues. Have you tried turning off the transponder? Shut it off on the VPX and see if it the ELT activates again? I ran my ELT phone cable on the right side of the fueslage away from all other wires. How involved would it be to reroute you wire away from the transponder antenna and transponder antenna wire ?
    Dustin Dickerson

    Building 7ss STI x 2
    Oratex
    29" shock monster
    EP912STI 155hp
    Garmin
    N33TF
    N53TF

  6. #6
    Senior Member rv9ralph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Greenleaf, ID
    Posts
    366

    Default Re: ELT false activation

    Joe,
    Do you have a Garmin G3? In the past I had a friend that had a G3 and it tripped his ELT. I believe it had to do with the proximity of the transponder antenna coax. If you are having more issues, I can contact him to find the specifics. It has been a few years since he relayed the issue to me and I don't remember all the details.

    Ralph

  7. #7
    Senior Member JoeRuscito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    227

    Default Re: ELT false activation

    Thanks all, so far it looks like it may be the routing of the remote wire. I unplugged and seems to be working now. I have new wire on the way because rerouting would be a PIA! But I can cut the old wire and pull out no problem. So Ill try along the right side and see what happens. ACK also suggested tin-foiling (wrapping) the ELT to keep stray EMF out.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •