PDA

View Full Version : Series 7 flying question.

ridgerunner
06-11-2019, 06:41 PM
Since i'm new to flying a kitfox aircraft, has anyone experienced when your flying the left wing feels heavy? I don't know if this is normal when you fly alone due to pilot weight or if something is out of alignment. Any insight would be helpful and appreciated.

Dave S
06-11-2019, 07:09 PM
Hi Les,

Real common to have a heavy wing on a newly assembled Kitfox. It's a matter of adjusting the washout.

You should find all the the info you might want by searching the forum with the term "heavy wing".

FWIW - the old aviation book titled "Stick & Rudder" explains this phenomena somewhere in the middle of the book.

Easy fix....:)

efwd
06-11-2019, 08:59 PM
I spoke with John McBean about my heavy left wing when I started flying. It is very subtle. He thought maybe if it was as subtle as I described then I might leave the washout alone. I didn't touch anything and notice that its gone when I have a passenger.

jiott
06-11-2019, 09:52 PM
I noticed a little of the same thing Eddie, but since I fly 95% of the time without a passenger, I went ahead and tweaked the washout to get level wings when solo.

DesertFox4
06-11-2019, 11:17 PM
Jim expressed exactly my thoughts on the matter.
It’s been 15 years since I did the adjustment on my model four’s wings for a slightly right wing heavy condition. I know it’s been covered here before but if someone has recently done this very simple adjustment, feel free to post it again. This is a timely thread for many about to fly their first flights.

ridgerunner
06-12-2019, 07:07 AM
Thanks for all of the reply’s on this. I am still amazed with the wealth of knowledge and experience that is shared on this forum. Glad to be a part of it. I am going to check everything and make any adjustments this weekend, thanks again.

jiott
06-12-2019, 12:38 PM