PDA

View Full Version : Rotax 582 Flying Best Practices

jsimmo97
11-25-2009, 11:17 AM
Folks... anyone out there have some best practices they can share regarding flying the Rotax 582 engine?

I am new to my beast and came across an article that points to cylinder head versus piston temp differences as the root cause for engine failure.

Is suggests that you should never pull the power back to half throttle and descent at a high airspeed. The half throttle condition creates a very lean mixture/high temp delta situation that is certain to cause piston ring failure or other issues.

In flying my Kitfox last week I noticed that the EGTs went up (not down) when pulling the throttle back to certain RPMs. The article point out that its really not high EGTs that is the problem but more the difference between the piston temp and the cylinder head temp.

Would love your thoughts and dialogue.

jrthomas
11-25-2009, 06:41 PM