PDA

View Full Version : Kitfox Model II Rebuild

KitfoxSS
03-08-2019, 03:59 AM
Not sure if this counts as a build, but it is a rebuild.

I'm a newly minted Sport Pilot.
Just got my wings a month ago and still need to get my Tail-drag Endorsement.
So whats the story on the bird here then?

Well it's a story with a lot of history behind it.
So pull up a chair.

This particular model II was purchased as a kit in 1989.
The owners, a father and son pair, along with a friend of the son, worked on the kit.
They spent many months building the kitfox and getting it ready. And finally in 1991 it was complete. Signed off and given it's Airworthiness Cert.
It spent the next 8 years being flown and enjoyed. Now the son was the primary owner and operator of the kitfox. And he enjoyed flying it but was ready to move on.
He jumped onto the next project. A Wheeler Express.
And as that project came to its completion the kitfox sat.

He knew the kitfox was just sitting and due to size of his hanger, it had to be stored with the wings off to allow his new plane the room needed. So even if he wanted to fly the kitfox it was a hassle to put the wings back only to take them right back off. It just wasn't practical.

He decided it was probably best to sell it as he had moved up.
The friend, who had helped him build it asked if he could buy it. To which the son agreed.
This was around 2006.

The friend had the idea that he would do some minor work to it.
It would be something himself and his own son could enjoy together.

But.....

With sadness to say, his son passed in a tragic traffic accident.
The kitfox sat in his garage for almost 13 years.

Now, I need to go back a bit.
The father and son who built this plane.
Well the son had his own son. A young toddler at the time.
That child loved the plane, as he grew up in it and was in all likely hood the first plane he had ever been in.

That child, was me.