PDA

View Full Version : Dipole antenna with no ground plane

Birdseyeview
11-29-2018, 08:06 PM
Has anyone installed the ACS dipole antenna in their kitfox? The ACS ad says that it is best mounted internal to the skin and requires no ground plane. It also is claimed to outperform all externally mounted coms antennas. Pretty lofty claims but is it true? The Spruce ad shows a flexible strip of something (assume metal) 43" long and about an inch wide with the BNG connector in the middle of the strip. It is attached to a piece of wood that is attached diagonally to opposite corner side frame stringers behind the cockpit. So it is positioned at a 45 degree angle in the plane of the propeller. Reasonable price tag too. Some real world experience would be very interesting to hear about if there's any out there.

HighWing
11-29-2018, 09:55 PM
I am curious about comments as well. In the real olden days, I was a Ham Radio operator and the dipole antennas were favored when long distance directional communication was desired. I guess this explaines somewhat the diagonal orientation of the antenna mounting. The best communication will be in the directions perpendicular to the antenna with significant reduction in transmit and receive power in the directions of the long axis.

rainbird
11-30-2018, 02:15 PM
I mounted one of those vertically in the rudder about 4 inches FWD of the aft edge of the rudder. I notched the ribs to make the ante a flush with the rib surface and glued it in place. Of course do this before covering the rudder. I ran one piece of coaxed from the radio to the antenna. A 4” round access is necessary to connect the coax to the antenna.
My plane only has 10 hours on it but it works good both in the air and on the ground. On the ground I can clearly hear another airport 50 miles away with mountains in between.

HighWing
11-30-2018, 02:25 PM
Sounds like a winner. Mounted vertically it would provide the strong signal in the directions most desired.

Birdseyeview