PDA

View Full Version : How'd you fund your Kitfox?

mtTundra
10-22-2018, 10:31 AM
Greetings all,
I'm new to aviation, working on getting my PPL currently.
a couple buddies and I have settled on building a couple of kitfox's over the next couple years, while I build time and ratings.

What got me thinking was, how have those of you who've done it funded your build?
I know you can finance a finished plane, but a kit seems to be a little harder to do. Did you finance the kit? Sell an extra car or other toys? Cash our refi on your house? Pay Cash?

Just looking for ideas on how you've done it. Considering the kit plus engine is likely to run ~80K by the time you factor avionics, engine, plane kit, etc.

Not looking for boasting or starting a debate on which way is 'best', just looking for advice on methods or sacrifices you all have made to get there.

Cheers,

Matt

aviator79
10-22-2018, 12:12 PM
I paid cash, and I have definitely run over budget. I'd say $80k is a decent budget. But if you want all the bells and whistles, it goes north quickly.

EAA's financing partner, NAFCO will finance your build. The value of your kit crashes when you take delivery, and doesn't really recover until you finish building. Only about 25% of new kit builders (all types, not necessarily Kitfox) finish an airplane kit. Because of this, it's a risky loan for the lender and the terms aren't great. For the kit, I was quoted 20% down, and 7.6% for 10 years, with a balloon at 3 years. When you're ready to buy firewall forward, they would have refinanced the loan into 5.73 to 6.07% for 5-15 years. This structure really reflects the risk profile of the loan. Given these terms, I elected not to finance.

jiott
10-22-2018, 12:13 PM
Bought the wings first, then the fuse, then the engine &FWF, and last the avionics. It spread out the cost over 2.5 years.

jonstark
10-22-2018, 12:16 PM
Cash.
Just don’t attempt to justify the expense.

Shadowrider
10-22-2018, 12:18 PM