PDA

View Full Version : Changing Airworthiness Certificate

SMangini
04-24-2018, 06:22 PM
If a Kitfox series 5-7 is for sale and has been certificated as "Light Sport" with a weight limit of 1320lbs. Can it be recertified by a new owner under factory weight limit of 1550lbs? I am a newbie of course and needing to be informed as much as possible in order to pull the trigger when the right plane comes up for sale. My thought process for needing all 1550lbs. is as follows: Dry weight of plane 850lbs. + 280 (me) + 150 (passenger) + 100 (Baggage) + 20 (Coolant/Oil) + 100 (~4hrs fuel) = 1500lbs. The above weight scenario would be a typical cross country trip with the wife. Thanks in advance! Your knowledge and advise is much appreciated.

avidflyer
04-24-2018, 07:55 PM
Yes, you have to notify the FAA of the change, do phase 1 flight testing to verify the safety of the changes. You can't go the other way though. JImChuk

aviator79
04-25-2018, 08:48 AM
If you dig around on the forums here, you'll find a few discussions on this. JImChuk has summed it up pretty concisely, but I'll expand just a little bit.

If the airplane is certified as amateur-built, you can increase the gross weight. The advantage is obvious: you'll be able to come in under gross when loaded as you describe. The disadvantage is that the airplane will never again be a Light Sport Aircraft, even if you change the max gross weight back to 1320. The result is that Sport Pilots and other pilots that are flying under the light sport rules would not be able to fly it (legally, anyhow). Some suspect that this may reduce the resale value because you reduce the potential buyer pool. In the current market, I doubt it matters what the gross weight is, but I thought I'd point out the resale as something for you to consider.

fastfred
04-25-2018, 10:21 AM
Someone told me that the Faa might Increase the LSA weight to 1550. Anyone else heard that?

Danzer1
04-25-2018, 02:39 PM