PDA

View Full Version : Super Sport Instruction Recommendation

Bobo
04-04-2018, 05:38 PM
I would like to know if you have any recommendations for a CFI that can give me instruction in a Kitfox Super Sport. Several of the insurance companies I’m considering require either 5 hours of dual or just a sign off from a CFI that I’m good to go (no minimum hours).

From talking with folks, reading this forum & my research, it seams that Stick & Rudder is the gold standard for Kitfox instruction. I can & will go to them if there is no other suitable option closer to where I live which is the Cleveland, OH area. I’m willing to drive quite a few hours if needed.

A little background for me if it matters. I have 450+ hours in a Stearman and about 10 hours in a Cub so I feel very comfortable in tailwheel airplanes. I’ve been a professional pilot for 28+ years and currently fly about 350 hours a year.

Respectfully, Todd

Av8r_Sed
04-05-2018, 04:48 AM
Go ahead and treat yourself to a little Idaho vacation. Your Kitfox transition could well include a good dose of backcountry fun. You just can't find that in the flatlands.

Ramos
04-05-2018, 09:25 AM
I suspect the best return on investment will come from the Gold Standard. Way more to gain than simply meeting an insurance requirement! ;)

efwd
04-05-2018, 12:29 PM
Stand by Todd, I will have very current input to this come early next week. I begin flying on Tuesday with Stick and Rudder. As for back country, that takes place Friday and Saturday. I will post when I can. Maybe I can post every night to kind of give you an idea of how the training goes for me. I know there are others who are in my same condition. I have been out of flying for over 20 years and have logged very little time whatsoever over those years, all of which were with instructors. Soooo looking forward to next week.
Eddie

fastfred
04-05-2018, 02:49 PM