PDA

View Full Version : Nastiest part of building an aircraft

colospace
09-11-2017, 03:16 PM
I'm sure RV folks would say ProSealing their tanks is the nastiest thing about building an aircraft. But for us Kitfoxers, I nominate cutting and sanding the plexiglass. I thought the bubble doors was a mess, but I just spent the afternoon cutting and sanding on the windscreen, and still not done. That fine powder gets everywhere! I need an assistant to keep a vacuum going right at the work point.

jmodguy
09-11-2017, 06:49 PM
crappy cowl...

dcsfoto
09-11-2017, 08:08 PM
second that

jrevens
09-12-2017, 12:08 AM
crappy cowl...

I agree... this goes along with Eddie's (EFWD Build) recent posts about his cowl also. A little more quality and care in manufacturing these parts would mean a lot, IMHO.

rosslr
09-12-2017, 02:47 AM
I'm with you John. I was rather surprised at the poor quality of the cowlings when they arrived - I am no expert but I think in this day and age it would be possible form the cowls to be a lot more accurate fit than they are. Why they can't be close to a perfect fit I dont get.

cheers

r

David47
09-12-2017, 06:15 AM
Trimming the doors and the bucket seats has been the crappiest work for me so far. My workshop looked like I was into making cocaine with white powder everywhere....

efwd
09-12-2017, 07:10 AM
I believe the FAA 51% rule has part in how finished things are. As it turned out, I found the process of doing my cowl was pretty rewarding. Scary at first but members here have aided that quite well.
Eddie

colospace
09-12-2017, 07:50 AM
I agree with you Eddie on the "scary" part of doing the cowling. I really benefited from looking at Tom Waid's build photos to help conceptualize the details of how it should look in the end. (And I can deal with the fiberglass dust much better than the plexi fine grit.)

Cherrybark
09-12-2017, 12:30 PM