PDA

View Full Version : 582 High EGT'S HELP

Bluebird19kf
09-09-2017, 07:13 PM
I just purchased a kitfox model 3 with grey head 582. Engine has 190 hrs. I have no experience with this airplane or rotax engines. I have been seeing EGT'S. At 1250 in cruise rpm of 5800. I have read this is to high so I decided to raise the needle one position to make it richer. Flew it and it climbed out smooth with full throttle but from 4 to 6 thousand rpm it misses and shutters pretty bad. The EGT'S where down around 1100 though. So I moved the needles back to where they were and it runs like it did before, smooth but EGT'S at 1250. What should I do or check. I'm lost.

avidflyer
09-09-2017, 08:43 PM
You should check the plugs. They are accurate even when a gauge is not. Plugs should be a coffee color. Maybe run it on the ground for 5 minutes at that cruising rpm, then shut it off without letting it get down to idle, then pull the plugs and look at them. If it's to rich, the plugs will be black, to lean probably gray. At first glance, 1250 is to high, but that is if the gauge is accurate. EGTs are very important. To high, and the motor burns up fairly quick. JImChuk

Av8r_Sed
09-10-2017, 05:48 AM
I've had good luck managing the EGT's on my Model III. The key is (1) replace the Westach needle gauges with something electronic and more accurate. I use the MGL E-1 instrument (Sponsor here, click the link on the left). and (2), install a HacMan mixture control from Green Sky Adventures. This gives you in-flight dial control. I still have to avoid running in the mid-throttle range while unloading the prop, but everything else is easily manageable.

Dusty
09-10-2017, 01:01 PM
The egt gauges are not accurate so as suggested check the plugs.