PDA

View Full Version : Kick back

wannafly
05-10-2017, 07:28 AM
Had a prop strike so sent engine in just to be sure everything was ok. They replaced one disc in clutch and I asked them to put in the soft start module while they had it. They also put in a new fly wheel that was supposed to improve starting. It kicks back more now then it ever did before. Plus it starts very hard. I thought this was going to make it easier on the engine. Any ideas out there? Should I just put it back the way it was?

mbuckner
05-10-2017, 07:44 AM
Good morning,

I am new to LSA ... what is a soft start module?

Best regards,

Mike

kmach
05-10-2017, 08:40 AM
My new 2015 912uls engine with the factory soft start, spins fast and fires instantly. It has the HD starter.

You need a good battery to get the rpm for the modules to fire, my first thought is your battery may not be up to the task or a little weak.

I have heard of kickback problems from a weak battery.

I think if I remember right if kickback is a common regular, occurrence the sprag clutch gets damaged.

I would try a new battery as the first simple solution,
I would also recheck the wiring setup for the soft start, If I remember right there are two wires from each module plug that join together and hook onto the starter solenoid .

Did you get this work done in Vernon?

Good luck Mic

Paul Z
05-10-2017, 09:29 AM
Carb problems can also cause hard start problems.

Slyfox
05-10-2017, 11:36 AM