PDA

View Full Version : What battery type do you run?

beeryboats
01-30-2017, 06:53 PM
I'm in the market for a new batter for my IV. The old one sat for 10 years and just won't take a charge for some reason:D. My old one was a wet cell. I assume everyone is using glass matt these days?

n85ae
01-30-2017, 06:59 PM
I have been using a Scorpion the last couple years. Out cranks the Oddyssey PC-680 it replaced.

Jeff

ken nougaret
01-30-2017, 08:27 PM
I've been using the odessey 680 for 3 months. Its behind the pilot seat and cranks an o200 very well.

jiott
01-30-2017, 08:52 PM
I have been using the Aerovoltz Li-Fe battery for 3.5 years. It has been great; no need to trickle charge it-it holds a full charge for 2 months (I have heard they will hold charge for a year or more). A full 10 lbs lighter than a gell cell. I will be replacing it one of these days with the newer EarthX Li-Fe battery with built-in cell balancing and over-voltage protection. There are some cons to these type of batteries: when they run down it happens quick without much warning; some folks are afraid of fire but the Li-Fe is much safer than the Li-Ion. I believe the positives greatly outweigh the negatives in my personal opinion.

DesertFox4
01-30-2017, 09:31 PM
I've had an Aerovolt set aside for my 7 Super Sport. It occupied a space on my closet shelf for two years prior to installing it in my Kitfox project. It sat so far another 8 months after installing it and still held a charge even after enduring a pretty hot Phoenix summer. I figured I would be buying replacement for sure but after balance charging this one it came up to full charge and is looking healthy according to the chargers diagnostics. Love the weight savings.:)

Av8r3400
01-30-2017, 09:49 PM
Another vote for the "old school" Odyssey 680.

I went flying this past Sunday and had no problem cranking up my big bore 912 even though the plane has sat for several weeks in an unheated hangar in Northern Wisconsin temps.

neville