PDA

View Full Version : Considering Kitfox purchase (need float plane advise)

jsimmo97
07-24-2009, 07:03 AM
Hello All,

I am new to the Kitfox world and I need some direction and advise. I am looking for a second hand airplane that fits some specific criteria that I have (foldings wings, taildragger and float configurable). The KitFox appears to be my airplane.

That being said should I purchase a KitFox I, II, III, or IV with, again, the ultimate desire of putting it on straight floats.

I am seeing a number IVs on floats and a select few IIs but I am concerned about the 65HP engines with floats. Can anyone offer advise, experience, or opinions so I can narrow my search.

Also... when buying a used Kitfox is there an expert out there that can help appraise the aircraft and also check it out completely for air worthiness. I don't want to take it to some A&P who's never seen a Kitfox.

Thanks!

~Jason

Av8r3400
07-24-2009, 10:18 AM
Later model IV's (1200# MTOW) with their larger tail would have better yaw stability on floats, but any will do.

I have a friend with a IV-1200 with the 80 hp 912 & IVO IFA that does very well on amphibian floats.

Slyfox
07-24-2009, 10:26 AM
I have thought over and over about doing this as well with my model 4. That way I can fly it right to my lake property. Still in thought about it. Only thing, you loose some performance. But who cares, after all I have the RV right. I just might do it as well. Oh, this is on the subject, the best floats to use. thow me a bone here.

Slyfox
07-24-2009, 12:04 PM
Ya, I guess. But, what if you have the same engine in the older model. ya ha! I bet I get better performance

DesertFox4
07-24-2009, 03:30 PM