PDA

View Full Version : I found a new 1995 engine

TahoeTim
12-25-2014, 09:26 AM
Any idea what a 1995ul is worth? no hours but completely unknown condition. Let's assume that I will take it to Elko to have the zipper big bore installed.

It probably needs the rockers, soft start, big starter, reduction drive clutch?

I am new to Rotax engines but I am guessing it's only worth $2000 or so given the risk that it might be junk.

birddog486
12-25-2014, 01:44 PM
Maybe I'm missing something here but, if this is a zero time engine it should still be somewhat preserved. If it was kept out of the weather your number doesn't seem to be very realistic but it would be a super deal.

Engines in this time period that have 500-1000 hrs. on them are still going for 5-7K or more.

The rotax doesn't have the same problems with rust and corrosion that the lyc and cont engines have.

Av8r3400
12-25-2014, 03:26 PM
Yes, please tell us a little more about this engine.

Birddog486 is correct about the value...

tommg13780
12-25-2014, 05:01 PM
accessories have huge impact on price. Oil tank, radiator, oil cooler and especially exhaust for Kitfox application are very pricey if buying at new prices. Serial # before 4.405.189 will not accept softstart.

WWhunter
12-25-2014, 05:01 PM
Concur! I would just about bet if the owner wanted to advertise it he could get closer to $10K out of then $2K. I would think a person would suspect something 'shady' if it sold for $2K. Heck, you can strip an old engine for parts and get a LOT more than $2k for less than half the parts.
If that seller is wanting to sell it for $2K and you don't want it, I bet you will get a gazillion private messages from guys wanting to know where it is. I sure am!!! Even if it isn't in running condition I would take it.

TahoeTim
12-25-2014, 07:50 PM