PDA

View Full Version : Paper chart vs iPad for VFR

beeryboats
10-23-2014, 06:11 PM
The engine is out waiting to go in for overhaul, so I'm dreaming about flying again. I'm a private pilot but not current. Lots of things have changed over the years. I don't plan any great journeys, just local flights and $100 Burgers. What would be better, my old school paper charts or cough up some $$ for one of the new electronic charts services for my new iPad? From what I understand, the new electronic charts show current weather as well as flight planning? Would an instructor expect me to have paper or an iPad?

N981MS
10-23-2014, 07:18 PM
I fly IFR and VFR with Foreflight on the iPad and would not do it any other way. Awesome for flight planning. ALL the charts in the country for 70$ a year. Airport info.

Get an iPad with the 3G or 4G cellular chip. I think they call it wifi plus 4g. You do not have to activate cell service but only the ones with the cellular capability have built in GPS.

Weather on the iPad in the air requires a separate ads-b receiver. I have not played with this yet but some have and swear by it. Weather on the ground is shown on your sectional and is received via wifi or cell service data plan.

I am a huge fan.

kmach
10-23-2014, 07:31 PM
Hi,
I went to the ipad with foreflight last fall, no more trying to unfold a map in the cockpit!
Flight planning is easy and all info in one place.

You might need to do some navigation plotting on a paper map for flight tests and such, you will need to check with your flight training facility.

SWeidemann
10-23-2014, 07:49 PM
I vote for an IPad Mini with Foreflight. Last 1000 mile trip to Sun N Fun I took WAC charts, a bunch of Sectionals & a few Terminal charts. I don't remember opening any of the paper charts. For redundancy I have Foreflight on my IPhone too and a Garmin 196. I think paperless is also all that is required.

Skot

Paul Z
10-23-2014, 08:53 PM