PDA

View Full Version : Max Engine RPM

cgruby
09-19-2014, 07:02 PM
I have a type III with a Subaru EA81 engine and a 1.80:1 reduction drive. The engine is rated at 80 HP at 5,000 RPM. The max RPM I've seen is 4,000. Since I didn't build the airplane, I have no knowledge as to how this came to be. The question is, should I just simply adjust the prop until I get the 5,000, or are their other things that I should consider?

Thanks, I'll standby for your comments.

Dave S
09-20-2014, 06:48 AM
Hi Chuck,

Interesting deal.....First off, I cannot claim to be any kind of expert on the EA81; but, the prop pitch does have a dramatic influence on any engine's performance; and, general principals apply often.

Might be good to let the list know what prop you have on the engine....and prop model...for instance, Warp has a square tip and a tapered tip which behave a little differently and they come in different diameters (blade length).

Might be worthwhile to do a couple preliminary things before adjusting the prop.....1) measure the existing prop pitch with the appropriate protractor so you know what your starting point is. 2) Be sure the engine tune is up to par....no restrictions due to filters which are not clean, plugs clean & timing and correct, throttle cable & carb adjusted so the throttle opens fully, correct fuel mixture, carb heat not locked on, compression...basically check anything that could result in a power reduction if it is not 100% ....

I am sure others on the list have experience with EA81's & if people know what prop you have it would help with advice folks may offer.:)

Sincerely,

Dave S
Kitfox 7 Trigear
912ULS Warp Tapered tip

St Paul, MN

cgruby
09-20-2014, 04:56 PM