PDA

View Full Version : new to kitfox need suggestions

h-m
09-15-2014, 11:31 PM
Hello all, i am new to building a kitfox as i just came into a kitfox 1 for a nice price. it has no instuments so i would like to get your experienced input as to the bare essiatials that i might need. i don't want to give up much weight, so i would just like to know what you guys think one should shoot for for minimum instruments for a nice clean simple panel. both my daughter and i like old school, so we are not looking for the newest wizz bang items, just what will get the job done in a classic aircraft. was thinking simple, 2-1/2" airspeed 0-160 knots (??? maybe), vertical speed 0 - 2,000 fps or something like that? altitude 0 -12,000 ft, old turn and bank indicator (old style ball in arced tube kind maybe) and then basic insturmentation for rotax 582, CHT for both cylinders, egt for both cylinders, water temp, amps. what else do you guys think we should shoot for? spose we will need xponder and maybe just go with handheld nav/comm portable with 2-place intercomm system, what else do you think?
thanks very much.
micheal

Av8r_Sed
09-16-2014, 09:35 AM
This is a case where "Old School" might not be the best choice for your panel. Analog instruments for a 582 are notoriously poor in terms of accuracy, particularly for EGT and RPM readings. This can lead you to tune your engine wrong or misadjust your prop when pitching it.

I recommend using one of the forum sponsor's products, the MGL E-1 Velocity single. It combines the EGT, RPM, water temp, system voltage and hour meter functions in one small, lightweight package. Mine has given me good service and is relatively easy to read. It has some "buttonology" to learn, but it's not something I need to mess with on every flight.

http://www.mglavionics.com/html/velocity.html#e1

I wonder if a VSI is really necessary. I have one in my panel, but I only look at it on climb out as trend information.

h-m
09-16-2014, 10:09 AM