PDA

View Full Version : Wiring through the spars.

inzersv
08-01-2014, 10:44 AM
Thought that I saw some photos where some of you drilled holes in the spar to run wiring, where would I find them? I am putting my ADAHRS in my wing and need to run the network cable and the static line into the fuselage. I have the 15 foot network cable so I can't take it to the end of the wing tip and back unless I was to get the 30 foot cable. Any thoughts?

SkyPirate
08-01-2014, 11:50 AM
As a rule you never drill top or bottom on a round spar unless your mounting a strut brace, your filling the hole with a rivet and adding a plate, inside of your spar at the strut mount there is an I beam, if I had to drill a hole on the rear spar it would be on the leading edge close to the strut bracket

HighWing
08-01-2014, 04:15 PM
As a rule you never drill top or bottom on a round spar unless your mounting a strut brace....

First, I am not an engineer except what I learned as a Dentist - bridge building.

From what I understand this is typical advice. the stresses on a wing would be tensional stresses and would be the caps - top between root and bracket and bottom bottom outboard of the bracket.

...if I had to drill a hole on the rear spar it would be on the leading edge close to the strut bracket

I might have a little different thought on this one. The greatest point of stress on the spar of a strut designed wing would be at the strut attach bracket. I think I would go inboard or outboard of that. I do know that in the Model IV book, the spar was drilled to pass the pitot tube tubing and it was outboard of the attach bracket about a foot.

Again, this is just from an amateur.

SkyPirate
08-01-2014, 08:10 PM
Yes when I said near the strut bracket I should have been more clear, "close" = inboard , your between the main strut and jury strut and with in the area of the inner I beams added strength

jiott
08-01-2014, 10:37 PM