PDA

View Full Version : LLE and Fuel tank

alanr
04-03-2014, 05:49 AM
Hi all,

Just thinking about my yet to be ordered kit and the LLE option and if to go for this option at all.
I think I am correct in understanding that it comes in two pieces and joins at rib#5. Just wondering if folks are also cutting and making a join at the edge of the fuel tank (I think rib# 3)to make changing a fuel tank slightly easier if and when, heaven forbid, in the future a tank happens to leak. Or is this not the thing to do?
Also any comments for or against the LLE would be appreciated. The added weight v benefit v appearance etc.

Alan

cap01
04-03-2014, 08:33 AM
alan , don't know anything about the leading edge kit but i have some experience with the gas tanks leaking . be sure to leak check them good before installing them . i had a new tank that leaked and luckily found it before i installed it . when the hole was drilled for the outlet , the drill had gone too far in the tank and cut into the tank on the other side of the little sump area by the outlet . being the standup people that they are , the mcbeans made it right .

mr bill
04-03-2014, 09:12 AM
I don't know how much they improve performance, but they do improve the appearance of the wing. I installed them according to the instructions and would not cut them at the tank until repairs are needed.

alanr
04-04-2014, 08:31 AM
Chuck/Bill, Thanks for the advice....much appreciated.

jtpitkin06
04-04-2014, 08:42 AM
Part of the charm of a Kitfox is the rag wing appearance. Some paint jobs actually emphasize the scallops on the leading edge.

The leading edge kit has not been shown to be of significant advantage in performance. Adding weight just to make it look more like a metal wing is somewhat a move in the wrong direction. But that's why they make Fords and Chevys. Everyone likes something different. Maybe an all metal wing Kitfox will show up some day.

jp

alanr
04-04-2014, 10:02 AM
Great thoughts John..Thanks.