PDA

View Full Version : Personal Locator Beacons?

SWeidemann
01-30-2014, 07:40 AM
What do you seasoned cross country fliers use or recommend these days for Personal Locator Beacons?

Thanks much, Skot

DesertFox4
01-30-2014, 07:53 AM
I've been using a Spot for about 2 years now. :)
Works as advertised.

Av8r_Sed
01-30-2014, 07:59 AM
While not exactly a PLB, I'm using a Delorme InReach SE unit. It allows web based tracking, two way satellite text messaging and a good SOS features in case you do need a rescue.. Basically it's my electronic tether giving my wife some peace of mind while I wander around the countryside. It also integrates well with my smart phone to make entering messages easier.

The only drawback I find is the cost of the subscription service plan.

http://www.inreachdelorme.com/product-info/inreachse.php

http://www.inreachdelorme.com/assets/images/products/inreachse_m01.jpg

SkySteve
01-30-2014, 08:59 AM
This is a VERY important subject.

I use SPOT II. As DF4 says, Works as advertised.
There has been discussion after discussion as to which PLB is best. Some have more options but cost more. Some have fewer options but cost less. Some work on one system, some on another. The PLB discussions often follow the "which is the best concealed weapon" discussions. After all is said and done the answer always seems to be reduced to "use the one you have, can afford and feel comfortable with".

So here is my best recommendation: Study them, yes. But most important, Get One, carry it with you all the time, turn it on and use it. They all work and any of them is so much better than none of them. Any one of them could save your life and more importantly they will provide so much relief to your loved ones left behind if you do crash and die in some remote location. Please, just get one and always use it.

Slyfox
01-30-2014, 09:20 AM