PDA

View Full Version : Full Flap Use

jiott
11-13-2013, 05:23 PM
I just built and am now flying off the 40 hours of my SS7. I am also a fairly new pilot with 160 hours total (in a Kitfox). Training in Boise with Stick & Rudder in their SS7 SLSA I always used full flaps for landings. On my kit built SS7 the full flap position is much more aggressive than the SLSA, and it was recommended to me by many on this forum and also John McBean that I use 1/2 flaps for landings until I become very familiar with the airplane-so that is what I have been doing.

Landing with 1/2 flaps is OK, but I miss the steeper approach angle that I got used to with full flaps on the SLSA. I did try some mock landings at altitude with full flaps in my own SS7, but the nose down pitch is so great that it is impossible to trim for a 60 mph approach speed and you come in with a lot of back stick pressure.

Short of taking my center console apart and cutting another flap detent notch between the 1/2 and full flap positions (which some guys are doing), what else can I do to get the steeper approach angle for short fields? What other wisdom or suggestions are out there? Are there any dangers in just using full flaps and holding the back pressure to carefully hold approach speed?

I would highly recommend that those of you still in the building process cut that extra notch before you rivet on the flap detent bracket.

Jim

airlina
11-13-2013, 06:17 PM
Learn how to slip your airplane. An aggressive slip will bring you down at over 1000 fpm on a steep angle, with the added benefit of better visibility to see those tree tops you are dropping in over at the approach end of the runway. Do lots of practice at altitude to get a good feel for them before using them on final. They will feel awkward at first , but once you get comfortable with them, I suspect you will use them all the time. Slips are a great tool to be proficient at for the safe Kitfox pilot. Go out and have fun. Bruce

Dave S