PDA

View Full Version : New member questions about build

JBAZ
05-09-2013, 09:29 AM
Morning all! New member here. I would like some insight into the skills required to build an S7 SS. I would take advantage of the quick build wings and most likely utilize a 912S. I have built many scale r/c planes, up to 50% scale and have built all the ribs for an experimental Fisher Dakota Hawk from spruce, but that is all. I have simple woodworking tools, router, belt sander, drills but no machining equipment, rivet guns, welders etc. I have plenty of indoor space to build and a good budget. I have followed a few build logs here and there but most seemed to construct the wings themselves. I am a pilot in training and if I build the SS would train at Stick & Rudder. I have been in contact with the factory to get shipping estimates and delivery times.

Any info or directed links to appropriate links/threads would be appreciated.

JB:)

HighWing
05-09-2013, 10:02 AM
In short, I think you have it all. Many of the build steps might be first timers at that particular skill, but your experience tells me you already have the ability to pick up new things easily. I have built two Model IVs, finished a "V and there are not any steps that a person with basic tool skills couldn't accomplish - especially with the occasional advice from those who might be just a step or two ahead of you. Think of it as building a full scale model with an excellent set of plans.

JBAZ
05-09-2013, 10:39 AM