PDA

View Full Version : Bubble doors

tommg13780
03-23-2013, 06:14 AM
I'm looking for advice on the installation of acrylic bubble skins on the aluminum bowed door frames. The fit around the outside edge appears to be fine. It seems that the radius of the molded acrylic is somewhat different that the door frames in the center area leaving as much as 1" separation between the acrylic and the aluminum frame. Perhaps this is correct? The airplane is model 4.

HighWing
03-23-2013, 07:27 AM
I have no personal experience witht the bubble doors, but my understanding from reading that it is normal. I don't know what is recommended now, but in the past, some felt that the acrylic added enough strenth to the door that they cut out the two cross tubes apparently without issues.
Lowell

hansedj
03-23-2013, 07:46 AM
http://www.teamkitfox.com/Forums/showthread.php?t=2860&highlight=bubble+door

that is correct here is a link.

tommg13780
03-23-2013, 08:35 AM
Thanks Daryl and Lowell. The situation is perfectly clear now. I appreciate the help.

jiott
03-23-2013, 09:52 AM
If the 4 is anything like the 7 the center crossbar is deliberately spaced away from the acrylic to allow you to use it as a handle for opening/closing the door.

Jim

HansLab
03-24-2013, 02:24 AM
Agree with that (horizontals to be used as handgrip).
Mr McBean answered on my question that it is possible to remove the horizontal bars. But when I installed the doors and sat in the plane, I found out how handy they are. And they're bent so, that they hardly take any space (or provide any, for that matter), so I left them where they were.

tommg13780
03-24-2013, 09:42 AM
I'm planning on keeping the horizontal bars in position and using stainless sheet metal screws to attach the acrylic to the frames. The 3M tape is available locally at the NAPA store at $48. All that's left is door latches from kitfox aircraft.
Tom

tommg13780
04-01-2013, 02:54 AM
here's the results. No door handles yet.

HighWing
04-01-2013, 07:41 AM