PDA

View Full Version : Brake Woes

aerozuk
04-11-2009, 07:34 AM
Everything is ready to go on my Kitfox II accept the right brake does not work at all. I have a dual matco master cylinder set up with matco calipers and wheels. I have re-built everything in the system and swapped master cylinders to troubleshoot. Left brake still works, right still doesn't. When I depress the right pedal the puck comes out of the caliper and all, I replaced the pads. I need to check the pressure in the line with a gauge but I just wanted to know if anyone else has had a problem like this with the Matco Mfg. brake systems? BTW, I bought this aircraft used, it needed some work but has been flown 300 hours so the brakes worked at some point. Thanks.

Ryan

lbushrod
04-11-2009, 09:51 AM
Make sure that your pedals are not even slightly depressed or disconnect them completely when filling reservoir on each side. If the check ball has any pressure on it, the Matco will not allow back flow.

I always disconnect my cylinders when filling (bottom-up) or bleeding my brakes. Good luck.

Pete

wildlandjon
04-11-2009, 01:56 PM
Ryan: If you are running the plastic lines. Check that they don't move when you depress the pedal. These lines carry a small volume of fluid and if allowed to move around when pressure is applied your pressure will be going to moving the tubing rather than your brake pads. Also check for any kinks old or new this tubing doesn't like kinks, it's like putting a orfice in the line, and lastly check all of the connections, use a good quality brake cleaner and allow these connections to dry, then take some baby powder and put a lite coat on the fittings, cycle the break pedal (do this several times ) if any of the fittings change color you have a small leak and any leak even a small one will drop the pressure at the pads.

Good Luck
Jon

Slyfox
04-13-2009, 12:26 PM