PDA

View Full Version : Classic IV Speedster Rebuild

Travm1982
01-19-2013, 03:04 PM
Hello TeamKitfox,
My name is Travis I'm 30 years old and like many of you have had an interest in aviation for as long as I can remember. My favorite toys as a kid were always the ones with wings and propellers, or even just something that I could pretend had wings. Growing up I learned about aviation from spending time at the local FBO with my dad who was a private pilot and owned several of his own aircraft throughout the years. After high school I attended college at K-State Salina School of Technology and Aviation where I studied to become a professional pilot. Somewhere along the way I fell short of my dream of becoming a paid professional pilot but never lost my passion for aviation.

As fate would have it, my father and I were recently lucky enough to stumble across an add on barnstormers under rotax for a salvaged Kitfox Classic IV Speedster that had suffered a rough landing and been a little bent up. The plane had been purchased from the original builder and was on its way to being parted out. The seller had included no pictures of the aircraft and was simply trying to sell the rotax 912 by itself. For whatever reason my father decided to give the guy a call to inquire a little more into the condition of the airframe. Once we recieved a few photos the seller had our full attention, and to make a long and somewhat adveturous story short, we were able to make a deal and I am now the very proud and opptomistic owner of my very own airplane. N130JL needs a little love, but I am confident that with some work, and some help from Teamkitfox that we will be able to return her to her previous glory.

My plan is to keep an ongoing record of our progress here and hopefully enlist the wisdom and experience of the TeamKitfox members so that I might have a better chance at being successful.