PDA

View Full Version : Antenna position

DaveP
02-12-2009, 10:02 AM
Any thoughts on the best position for the COM antenna? I'm thinking of placing it inside the fuselage, behind the baggage bay. Any reason why an internal antenna wouldn't work in the Kitfox 3?

RandyL
02-13-2009, 04:58 PM
Dave,
I'm no RF expert but from what I understand locating the antenna inside the steel cage would seriously compromise both receive and transmit performance. All the later model Kitfoxes have tabs welded to the structure under the cabin area for both transponder and comm antennas. Personally, I'd locate your antennas either on the belly or on the top of the rear fuselage. Hundreds of installations in these areas show they work well.

YMMV,

SkyPirate
05-12-2009, 06:32 PM
from my experience with CB's ,..(knowing that the wave length is different between aircraft and Citizen band,).. a ground plane at the base of the antenna works best,.this can be the fuselage , like mentioned ,..the newer models have the tabs welded in place for the antenna's,..the length of the ground plane( fuselage) will be the strongest signal,..side to side the weakest,..to help this so you have a more even signal pattern you can place a very light sheet of aluminum between the fabric and the antenna base,(on the inside of the aircraft) I have used newspaper print press plates,..which are very thin sheets of aluminum. I'm thinking .003...if you want to go one step further ,..on the ground side of your radio power supply,..attach a .05 capacitor from the hot wire to the ground in conjunction with your normal ground,..this will eliminate a good ammount of any static you get from other electrical devices on board. I think the .05 capacitor is 25 cents at radio shack.

SkyPirate
08-04-2009, 10:38 AM
placing the antenna inside of the fuselage might reduce some of your recieve capability ..but it will definately reduce your broadcast ability,..