PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know this Kitfox

Esser
04-10-2012, 04:30 PM
Older story but looks like a Kitfox owner was arrested for landing on Tybee beach!

http://www.11alive.com/video/87716625001/0/Man-lands-plane-on-Tybee-Island-beach

Grady
04-10-2012, 05:30 PM
This might help.
http://www.airport-data.com/aircraft/photo/150993.html

SkySteve
04-10-2012, 08:32 PM
Belongs to Mark Jenson out of Vernal, UT. He's had it at Ogden, UT (KOGD) several times. Nice guy. He does a lot of backcountry flying.

Esser
04-11-2012, 02:33 AM
I was just curious how much trouble he got into in the end.

vixenrookie
04-11-2012, 08:15 AM
since im new to this flying business, why would they arrest him and not just give a big fat ticket? what effect does this have on your pilots license? reason i ask i have not been to any flight class yet, just curious.

rogerh12
04-11-2012, 12:40 PM
This is from an internet news site:

An amateur pilot from Arkansas has been arrested after landing a small plane on the Tybee Island beach for recreation, according to police.

The single-engine, two-seat aircraft touched sand on Tybee's north end about noon. Two occupants casually climbed out for a walk on the beach, police Lt. Jonathan Hagan said.
"There was nothing mechanically wrong with the plane - they just landed to visit the beach for the day," Hagan said. "It was strictly for pleasure."
The pilot, identified as Mark Jensen, 36, of Arkansas, was arrested on charges of reckless conduct and operating a motorized craft on the beach, Hagan said.
Jensen's mother, the passenger, was not charged.
The pair reported that they'd landed similarly on other beaches in the past.
"It's unacceptable," Hagan said. "It jeopardized the safety of our beachgoers."

Well, maybe he should have just poured a bit of water into his gasolator, that's always a good way to fake a forced landing, and still take off again :)
Roger

Dorsal
04-11-2012, 12:56 PM