PDA

View Full Version : ethanol

billmellett
01-13-2012, 10:03 PM
I'm brand new to the rotax concept. The lycoming and continentals that can run on auto gas aren't supposed to be run on auto gas with ethanol. The rotax engines obviously are being run on ethanol spiked gas. Is there anything that you have to do to the gas so that it does not pick up extra moisture? (My understanding is that is the problem with the ethanol. Could be wrong on that.)

jamesmil
01-14-2012, 07:12 AM
ethanol contaminated gas will not only pick up water but will also attack the rubber in fuel hoses, carb,s and some fuel filter element materal.
also older fiberglass fuel tanks are not compatable with ethanol extended gas. it will cause all kinds of problems if stored for periods as short as 30 days in your airplane. it will also soften the pro seal used to seal fuel tanks on rv,s. this will show up at the inboard rear corner of the tank because that is the lowest point if it,s a tail dragger. then the tank has to be removed and the soft proseal has to be dug out till you get back to good proseal. were talking about 6 to 8 hores of work plus damaged paint around the screw heads.:mad: i put 10 gal. in my left tank on my rv7 once in a pinch to get to an airport along my route on a trip. topped off both tanks, when i got back home i was at about half tanks. did not fly again for about 30 days. not long after that is when the problems started. ethanol is junk!

Esser
01-14-2012, 10:56 AM
Bill talk to Dave F he has been running ethanol in his Kitfox for a while now. I think the secret it drain your carbs when you are done flying.

Woodennickle
01-14-2012, 02:52 PM
You can check for stations that have ethanol free gas at: pure-gas.org

Dave S
01-14-2012, 05:03 PM
Oh Boy!

Talking ethanol again is not all that likely to result in complete agreement on the issue.

There is some information out there that can help a bit.