PDA

View Full Version : Travel in a Kitfox

bandit
08-13-2011, 08:10 PM
Can anyone tell me if I am being realistic with my plans. I am not a pilot yet, but plan on getting my license this fall. I want to buy a Kitfox and put floats on it, for use mainly short trips to local lakes etc. But I also hope to fly across country from time to time. from say, Seattle to Miami Florida, given reasonable weather conditions , what would be a reasonable timeframe for a flight plan? Some people I talk to say flying across country in a 110 mph plane is unrealistic. Any experienced opinions would be appreciated!

Thank You,
Bandit

bandit
08-13-2011, 10:05 PM
I am asking if it is realistic, some people say it is not! I personally think it is but because I have no experience, I want advice from people like yourself that are or have done this sort of travel! I know it is possible as is driving around North America, although that would be something most people would only want to do once! (opinions will vary of course). It seems like traveling in a Kitfox and seeing North America would be alot of fun but I am not retired and can only tale 5 weeks total per year, in which I would like to do 2-3 long trips per year!

Thanks
Bandit

whitewulfe
08-14-2011, 12:43 AM
One of the forum members did Denver to Alaska, with a really nice writeup on everything: http://www.teamkitfox.com/Forums/showthread.php?t=1711

I would say with the proper planning, it would be quite fun and definitely realistic ^_^

Dorsal
08-14-2011, 03:58 AM
Definitely realistic, I have done it twice in a 150 mph plane with next to no storage (varieze). Would do it again in my kitfox which so far has only been as far as Oshkosh. I recommend the book Flight of Passage abou two kids who make the flight in a Cub. If I where planning such a flight today I would allow for 2-4 weeks depending on what I wanted to do along the way.

jdmcbean
08-14-2011, 11:06 AM