PDA

View Full Version : Adjustable Propeller Angle gauge- which one to get?

kmach
07-17-2011, 10:22 AM
Hi All, I am looking at getting a gauge for setting the pitch , or getting the blade angles equal to each other. i was wondering what others have , ones they have tried , likes, dislikes etc... I just about ordered a gauge from ACS but decided to ask a few questions first. ACS has an electronic one and a Warp Drive gauge, I was leaning towards the electronic one for some reason.

cap01
07-17-2011, 10:56 AM
kevin , i have the warp drive protractor . it works pretty good . as you probably know , it uses a bubble . the acs cube would be nice and probably a little more accurate , if a guy could justify the price .

kmach
07-17-2011, 08:35 PM
I have never seen a warp drive gauge, except in the ACS advertisement. I have never had or used any gauge as of yet so I am a rookie in the gauge area. I have the Sensenich ground adjustable prop , from their instructions the blades should remain equal by the center hub setup, but I would like to confirm with a gauge. I want to have a gauge before I start to experiment with prop settings .

SkySteve
07-18-2011, 05:45 AM
My hangar partner has a ground adjustable Sensenich prop with the pin gauges. He found them to be very unreliable in setting the pitch. Could never get all three blades set at the same degree. He ended up using the Warp Drive protractor to get his blade pitch angles set the same.

kmach
07-19-2011, 07:56 AM
That is really good to know.

jtpitkin06
07-19-2011, 08:34 AM
I agree, the Warp Drive Prop Protractor is easy to use. It fits many different size props, it's very accurate and you don't need to level the aircraft.

I used it yesterday to check a McCauley on my Cardinal RG.

Great tool. Well worth borrowing for the task.

JP

Slyfox
07-19-2011, 08:51 AM
I love mine. I push the switch up and goes to fine pitch, push down and goes to course.

avidflyer
07-19-2011, 09:02 AM