PDA

View Full Version : 912 oil temp sending unit location

joe912
05-23-2011, 08:09 PM
New to the list, bought a kitfox with a 912. Doing an inspection prior to calling an A&P to sign off the condition inspection.Now I am new to the 912 engine so I am trying to go over things as best as I can, tracing wires and hoses etc to get a beter understanding of where they go and what they do. Now I see the oil pressure and oil temp sending units on the firewall at the end oof what appears to be a hose from the lower right side of the gearbox. (see the photo the sending units are labeled and the purple line is where the hose is routed). Now I can see how the pressure sending unit would work there - but I dont see how the temperature sending unit could be accurate at the END of a hose without oil FLOWING through it. Any thoughts or is this location common on kitfoxes ?

Joe
Custer WI

Av8r3400
05-23-2011, 08:24 PM
Joe- It's supposed to be nice tomorrow evening. If you get up to Darrell's we can pull the cowling off my plane and you can compare... :)

(Nice to see you finally signed up and posting.)

HighWing
05-23-2011, 09:57 PM
Joe,

I agree that it doesn't seem right to have the temp sensor absent any oil flow. I know that many recommend mounting the pressure sensor off the engine for protection against vibration. It looks like, from your picture, you have the same sensor I put 900 hours on without failure. The temp sensor, on the other hand was a regular at not showing up for work - replaced four times in that period.