PDA

View Full Version : Finishing a Kitfox5 with 125HP Franklin engine

KenLee777
06-22-2020, 11:45 AM
I am curious to know if there are any Kitfoxes currently flying with the Franklin engine? I have no experience with those engines. I Currently have a Kitfox 3 with Rotax 912, a Baby Ace with Continental A65 and I know the M14P engine well having operated a Yak52 for 8 years.

I ask because I’m very interested in purchasing and completing a beautiful Kitfox 5 that has a new (never been run) 125 HP Franklin engine. I’m trying find out what I can from the Franklin factory, but the experience of all the people on this forum is invaluable. Any information would be appreciated. Weight and balance concerns for example? The airplane in question is a taildragger configuration. That’s all I know so far. Not sure if it’s a safari, Speedster, Voyager or Outback. I need to find that out. How can I tell? Thank you in advance.

binder
06-23-2020, 01:59 PM
I have no experience with the kitfox although I know the A&P at our field complains about sourcing parts for Franklin engines. He does a lot of older builds and restorations. I'm not sure if that will be an issue with an experimental since there is room for aftermarket parts but with an older engine I'm not sure what the aftermarket would be on them.

So I'd check for info on obtaining parts and things. Other than parts availability I can't see a reason why it wouldn't be a good performer.

avidflyer
06-23-2020, 03:23 PM
Wasn't there a guy in South Africa running a Franklin engine in his Kitfox? I don't remember the model he had other then 5 or newer. JImChuk

Rodney
06-23-2020, 04:07 PM
Might contact: Southern Aero Engines - Thomasville, NC 336-476-9094