PDA

View Full Version : Insurance Premiums

AMK53
02-13-2020, 08:18 PM
Now that I’m seriously considering buying a Kitfox, I’ve started looking at insurance costs and the quotes I’ve received so far are astronomical. I’m getting on the order of $3000/year for about $65k hull coverage (moving flight and ground). I’ve done some reading through the forums and other websites and it seems most people are getting quotes in the range of $1200-$1700. I know I’m a relatively new pilot (170 hours total with 20 hours on tailwheel and more accumulating weekly), but it seems weird that it’s so drastically higher than most.

Is it simply the hours or did I just get an unfavorable quote? Or is this just another way GA is becoming less affordable? Has anyone had any luck with specific insurance brokers\providers?

Shadowrider
02-13-2020, 08:41 PM
I was getting 3-5k rates. Most underwriters told me no thanks. I joined EAA and had falcon give me a quote. 1800 for 110k hull with 40 hours tailwheel. Biggest reason I joined EAA is you get a license to solid works. I have been watching lots of Youtube. :)

avidflyer
02-13-2020, 09:26 PM
I used Falcon for years, with the Avid, and the Chief. Last year I went shopping, and ended up switching to Avemco on the Avid for about a 25% less rate. Went with Butler Brown on the Chief, and it was about 40% less then Falcon. Not sure that Butler Brown does experimentals though. I had the Avemco on the Avid in effect before I learned about Butler Brown, and never tried to get the Avid insured through them. I should call them up and see, I just sent in my last years hours to Avemco today for next year's quote. JImChuk

AMK53
02-13-2020, 10:13 PM
I was getting 3-5k rates. Most underwriters told me no thanks. I joined EAA and had falcon give me a quote. 1800 for 110k hull with 40 hours tailwheel. Biggest reason I joined EAA is you get a license to solid works. I have been watching lots of Youtube. :)