Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch

Thread: My Introduction

Default My Introduction

Hi Kitfoxers...

I thought I would introduce myself since I just bought a Kitfox Super Sport. I live at an airpark in Michigan and drive airliners for a living. I'm the good looking guy on the right...

This Kitfox will be my 5th homebuilt. Currently I'm building a Zenith Cruzer and most of the construction is done and I'm currently painting. I'm painting this plane in a Blue Angels paint scheme. Click the link in my signature for my builder's log.

I also have started a YouTube channel about building this plane. I'm new to making videos but really enjoy it and hopefully eventually the editing will be much better.

So here's the long story...I'm a RANS guy. My first two kits were RANS planes. I own and run the www.ransclan.com website and forums. I've been going to Oshkosh for the last 20 years with the same group of friends. Most of them fly Kitfoxes.

In 2011, my buddy had to put his plane into the trees after an engine failure. In 2012 I lost my RANS S-6S due to a fire on the way home from Oshkosh. In 2013 my other buddy with a Kitfox lost his to an engine failure (brand new fuel line kinked-was found to be defective). Anyway, I went on to build an RV-7 but sold it after I completed most of the airframe. Both of my buddy's bought new Kitfox Super Sports. Rex's fox is just about done and ready to fly.

My buddy Mike bought his and completed a lot of the tasks but then just got too busy with family issues and after 5 years, decided the plane was not going to get completed. He bought it with the quick build wings and has dual landing lights and LED nav/strobes and tons of other extras.